Folk hymn arrangements for voices and instruments (flexible arrangements)

My shepherd will supply my need, Silent night, I wonder as I wander, Were you there when they crucified my Lord? and How can I keep from singing? for flexible combinations of vocal solo/duet, unison, 2-, 3- or 4-part choirs, piano solo or duet/organ and optional instruments, starting with violin, flute, clarinet and cello. They are designed for maximum flexibility. Any musically sensitive choices are encouraged. Published by Wirripang in 2023.

These are published separately, but can be sung in various combinations, including Silent night and Were you there?, My shepherd, I wonder and How can?, and all five in the order above.

My shepherd will supply my need

Silent night – first performed by Amy Myers (soprano), John Kim (cello) and Sarah Kim (organ), 7 December 2005
other known performances: the St James Singers (Sydney), cond Elise Morton, org Callum Knox, 24 December 2021; the St James Singers, cond/org Marko Sever. 24 December 2023

“I’m sure it will be well received – it captures the magic!” – conductor/teacher, Sydney.
“Congratulations on the wonderful performance of your lovely arrangement. The descant part sounds gorgeous, and I love the harmonies” – pianist/teacher, Sydney

I wonder as I wonder – first performed by the Penrith City Choir (Sydney), cond Lucy McAlary, pno duet Jane Andino and the composer, 2023

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

How can I keep from singing? – first performed by the Orange City Choir 1995. other known performances: Penrith City Choir (Sydney), cond Lucy McAlary, pno duet Jane Andino and the composer, 2023.

Published by astraya

I have worked as a music teacher, legal and magazine editor, and English language teacher in Australia and South Korea. I have lived in various parts of Australia, and in South Korea for two periods totalling three and a half years. I hold qualifications in linguistics, TESOL and classical music. My interests include language and languages, music (listening to, singing in choirs, composing), reading, movies and TV, photography and travel.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started